LGBTQ Civil Rights Events – December 2008

 

Event Details

 

A Day Without a Gay – “Call in Gay” – December 10th

Where: Nationwide
When: Wednesday, December 10th, all day
More information: tina@equalityactionnow.org

On December 10th (there has been some dispute about the date, it IS Wednesday, December 10th) supporters of the LGBTQ community are going on strike for one day to protest the passing of Proposition 8 and the removal of civil rights from the California Constitution of the LGBTQ community.

24 hours without our money, one day with no shopping (I know, I know… this will be HARD).  But the good part is that you can “Call in Gay.” Just say “I feel a little queer today, and I won’t be in.”

 

I’m pulling most of my information about events from other sites with no personal commentary. But I’d like to interject is a personal plea/request. Stay out of the bars too. I know they’re owned by our gay friends, and our friends serve our drinks and rely on our tips to pay their bills. It’s a tough call and I’m sorry.  I don’t want to hurt them.  But this action HAS TO HURT. The nation’s economy has to feel this, or we did it for nothing.

I’m taking it one step further, I’m requesting not to be paid for that day. I don’t want any tax money I would have paid to go to the government. I’m a nut job, I know.

 

8 Responses to LGBTQ Civil Rights Events – December 2008

  1. jonolan says:

    And if – like every other time some minority tries this stunt – nobody notices or cares? What then?

    You see that the problem with being a statistically small minority or a economically challenged minority; you don’t matter in the grand scheme of the economic engine.

    Sad, isn’t it?

  2. achievementgap says:

    Jonlan,

    I’ve missed you! But why must we always disagree?

    Blacks are and were a statistically small minority in the South during the Civil Rights movement. But, I’m fairly sure the Montgomery bus strike did not go unnoticed. (Just one example of the effect a small movement can have on the consciousness of our society).

    More importantly, beyond the strike, with regard to the civil rights movement in general, the rights of the black community were secured not just by black people. Like it or not, the success of that movement relied upon support from the white community. Minority issues always require the support of the majority, and events designed to call attention to minority issues – while they may have no financial impact – get attention. That’s why we protest, march, write, blog, strike, etc. It’s been going on for decades and it’s a pretty effective approach.

    But enough about me. I miss you because you’re the only person who ever argues with me who is not a religious nut. So, what’s your problem with gay marriage anyway, I’m just curious. I just don’t get it, doesn’t seem to fit with the stuff I’ve read on your blog. I don’t think its religious. I’m feeling like it’s an Ayn Rand kind of thing, but I don’t have time to think that through or put it into words – so it sounds stupid.

    Anyway, I hope you’re well!

    Diane

  3. jonolan says:

    I have NO problem with gay marriage. I’ve performed several over the years that I was a Priest (Pagan). I do however have a problem with judiciary overturning a referendum vote of the electorate.

    In the matter of your post, I was only commenting on the uselessness of such measures as “Call in Gay.” This has never worked in the larger context. Do you even know that Blacks – a larger group – have done this repeatedly on a national level to no discernible effect? The US is just too big to be effected by such things.

    I’m well enough and as well as be expected. 😉 Thanks for asking. I hope you’re doing well also.

  4. jonolan says:

    BTW – ask 10 random people – face-to-face so they can’t Google for it – what the Montgomery bus strike was and see how many of them know. Figure out which bar you want drown your sorrow and disillusionment in first though. 😦

  5. achievementgap says:

    Jonlon, I’m glad to hear you’re doing well, and I am also glad you have no problem with gay marriage.

    I guess “Call in Gay” or a “Day Without a Mexican” type protests don’t do much in any real way to impact the economy. But we get publicity (even bad publicity is good publicity), and it feels good. Sitting around eating your rage feels like shit. Doing something, even if it is “useless,” helps.

    Did you ever read (and why would you?) my post Fact vs. Fiction: Truth About Prop 8? I’m asking because, while most of what I posted was reposts from both sides of the issue, on the question of judicial activism I made some comments, and included the comments of a Mormon legal scholar (I don’t want to bother to repeat them here).

    I have concerns about what is legally appropriate too. I do not have a knee jerk reaction in favor of “getting my way” at the cost of destroying the foundation of our constitution. But some (conservative even) legal scholars believe the CA Supreme Court was not only well within it’s rights to overturn Prop 22, but that Prop 8 never should have been allowed on the ballot. Anyway, my point is, your argument is not one I am unsympathetic to.

    As far as the Montgomery bus strike… I fear you are right, so I will not take your challenge but will, instead, proceed home and straight to my liquor cabinet.

    As to my life, frankly, it sucks at the moment. Gotta love Prop 8, gives me something to think about! LOL. Take care.

  6. jonolan says:

    Don’t feel too bad. I’m poly and in a full-time, live-in triad. We have ZERO hope for “equality” – even under law, which the CA gays already have thanks to the revisions to the CA Family Code.

  7. achievementgap says:

    Jonlon, It made me feel sad to read this. You have supporters, me included. I don’t think you have zero chance. I hope one day we’ll be discussing equal rights for poly relationships.

  8. jonolan says:

    It’s very unlikely but also not a big deal to me or my family. There are other avenues under the law to reach parity or near parity with “married” couples.

Leave a Reply

