Prop 8 Petition

 

I’m posting a link to a petition to Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger to reopen Proposition 8.  I did not sign it (yet) because I have questions:

  1. What does it mean to reopen a proposition after the majority of people have passed it?
  2. Can he do this, is it within the scope of his authority?
  3. If he can do it for Prop 8, what else can he do it for?
  4. Does that scare anyone?
  5. Why are we (the author and signers of the petition) arguing fact v. fiction with Arnie, he’s already opposed 8.  If we DO want him to reopen the prop, shouldn’t we be arguing why it’s ok, in this particular case, to overturn the vote of the majority.

Don’t get me wrong… I’m all about decimating this hideous proposition – in a court of law.   Gloria Allred’s already on the job.  I just think we need to be really careful about how we get what we want.

Please correct me if I’m wrong on the legal ‘stuff.’  I’ll happily sign.

3 Responses to Prop 8 Petition

  1. Angie says:

    I am against prop 8 as well, and signed the peition b/c it’s the only one I’ve been able to find. However, I have the exact same questions as you.

    I’m not even sure what it means to reopen a proposition. Does this mean putting it before the voters again? I don’t know if that would make a difference and might just be a waste of public money.

    I’m not sure what this petition is actually requesting. I wish there was a better written petition out there.

  2. Ben says:

    “http://www.thepetitionsite.com/14/the-petition-to-repeal-proposition-8”

    Is there any language to this petition? If there is, I can’t find it. Like the other Prop 8 petition, I’m not sure signing something that isn’t worded succinctly and effectively (and is likely to be taken seriously by those to which it’s addressed) will get us very far, and it may harm our cause with too much emotion and not enough substance.

Leave a Reply

