A place in Hell

By now I’m sure you’ve heard Sarah Plain misquoted former Secretary of State Madeline Albright at a rally in Carson, CA on October 4th.

Sarah, misquoting Madeline Albright:

There is a special place in hell for women who don’t support other women.

Madeline Albright:

There is a special place in hell for women who don’t help other women.

My problems with this are many:

  1. Sarah’s folksy shout-out to all the folks who drink Starbuck’s mochas.
  2. Sarah misquoting Albright’s statement.
  3. Sarah’s misrepresentation* of Albright’s statement:

    Though I am flattered that Governor Palin has chosen to cite me as a source of wisdom, what I said had nothing to do with politics.

    Madeline Albright, to the Huffington Post

    *I would call it a flagrant misrepresentation, but I suspect Sarah had a literalistic interpretation of the quote and actually believes Ms. Albright thinks women will go to hell for not supporting her.

  4. The fact that Sarah had only read the quote the day before and could not remember it correctly (coupled with a deep suspicion that she had no idea who Madeline Albright was before reading the side of her mocha cup).
  5. Um, Sarah didn’t support Hillary Clinton, did she? Wouldn’t that be a problem for the GOP if she had? Where does that put her on the whole hell-bound-support-women issue?
  6. Ok, she said “support” but she really meant “vote” right? She thinks women are going Hell if they don’t vote for her? For real? Hell as in ‘eternal damnation and suffering in a pit of fire?’ That hell? That seems a little extreme to me. I’m no expert… but I’m surprised to hear voting for Obama ranks up there with abortion and gay-marriage in terms of sin.
  7. Hell again. Is that really fair? Men can vote for Obama but I can’t or I’ll go to Hell? You know, because I’m a woman and I’m not supporting her.
  8. The fact that Sarah Palin is playing the gender card at all.

    This one’s more complicated. The issue of gender and politics is not an easy one for me. Being a feminist, a lesbian and a person who generally feels that women have historically been fucked over in every imaginable way… I won’t even pretend gender doesn’t matter to me. Call me biased… Whatever! I think gender does play a role in my decision making and I still have problems with Sarah Palin pulling gender on me, or on any woman.  What, we’re all a bunch of sheep… Hillary Clinton and Sarah Palin are interchangeable?  Stick Palin on the ballot and you’ve got the women’s vote.   Please, that is ridiculous.  Sarah Palin is not fit to be in the same room with Senator Clinton, let alone assume she could garner any of her votes.

  9. The gender card again.  When I supported Hillary, which was up until she the very last possible moment, I cannot tell you how many times it was implied to me (by fellow-Dems and Reps alike) that I supported her only because she’s a woman. I resented the implication that I’m so vapid I can’t make a political decision based on issues other than gender (not to mention the absurdity of the notion that Hillary’s only qualification for the job was being female). Not that I can blame Palin for that experience… it’s not like she rang me up and said “hey Diane, who really cares about Hillary’s xx chromosomes, vote McCain” and now she’s flip-flopping. But, with my own gender-politics fury hanging about in recent memory, I couldn’t even listen to Sarah’s speech without really getting really pissed off (you might ask, what’s new about that?). It’s bad to vote for Hillary because she’s a woman, and good to vote for Palin because she’s a woman. Huh?

I guess you could say I’m misrepresenting Sarah’s position on this issue. But, then, I’m a blogger not a Vice Presidential candidate. I can do as I please. And I have to wonder, how much am I really misrepresenting her?  Save me a place in Hell.

Leave a Reply

