SPA – An Anonymous 12-Step Program of Recovery from Sarah Palin Addiction

 

My name is Diane and I am a Sarah Palin Addict.  I am addicted to news, video clips, blogs and polls exposing the absurdity of Sarah Palin as a person and politician.  This addiction has begun to affect both my professional and personal life.  My job is at risk, my productivity has suffered, my focus is gone, my energy is tapped.  A blog that was intended to motivate me to write has is now exclusively dedicated to my personal hatred of Sarah Palin and her annoying voice.  Last night my partner begged me, “no more about Sarah Palin, Please!” Clearly, I need help.

I have resolved that the 12-step program is the only way to overcome this addiction and move forward in my life.  I have to believe life can be fulfulling, and even meaningful, without a daily dose of Jon Stewart on Sarah Palin, or re-watching Tina Fey as Sarah Palin, or cheering again for Charlie Gibson’s “Bush Doctrine” question.  I have to believe it.  So help me God, I can overcome this.

Step 1 – We admitted we were powerless over our addiction – that our lives have become unmanageable. 

Step 1 is the first step to freedom.  It is about admitting I have lost my power of choice.  Even as I commit myself to this program of recovery, I am planning to watch The Daily Show after her first debate with Joe Biden.  I am thinking to myself (with a maniacal laugh)… “no one will ever know.”  My will power is non-existent.  I admit, I am out of control and I need help.

More tomorrow, I am exhausted by the effort.

2 Responses to SPA – An Anonymous 12-Step Program of Recovery from Sarah Palin Addiction

  1. Elyce Feliz says:

    Love it!

  2. achievementgap says:

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

